KIWANIS INSTALLS NEW INCLUSIVE SWAY FUN GLIDER


On July 9th, after over two years of fundraising and planning, the Brighton Kiwanis Club, and their Brighton Aktion Club were able to add a Sway-Fun Inclusive Glider to the Brighton Kiwanis Playground located behind Town Hall in the town of Brighton. This glider represents one of the first pieces of truly inclusive playground equipment in a public park in Monroe County, and allows wheelchair-bound children and able children to play together.


The Brighton Aktion Club first came up with the idea for a piece of inclusive playground equipment, and then held a year-long fundraiser selling over $2,000 worth of hand-crafted magnets. The Brighton High School Key Club and the University of Rochester Circle K service clubs (along with Brighton Kiwanis members) aided the Aktion Club in this endeavor.


Additionally, Brighton Kiwanis created awareness for the glider and raised additional funds through their Jewels of Jamaica Raffle and at other events. Overall, many Kiwanians and members of Aktion Club and our other service leadership programs worked very hard to conceive, fund, and follow through on this project.


Any questions?  Contact us at info@brightonkiwanisclub.org


Please feel free to join us for lunch or dinner sometime.

E-mail us to let us know you’re coming, and we’ll hold a place for you.





MEETINGS & EVENTS

All meetings from this point forth will be at lunch, typically on the first and third Tuesdays of the month.  Upcoming meetings and events are tentatively as follows:

        Monday, December 10, 2018 – Finger Lakes Division Meeting – Flaherty’s, Macedon - 7:00 pm

        Tuesday, December 18, 2018 – Regular Meeting – Jeremiah’s Tavern, Jefferson Road - 12:15 pm

        Tuesday, January 15, 2019 – Regular Meeting – Jeremiah’s Tavern, Jefferson Road - 12:15 pm

        Monday, January 21, 2019 – Kiwanis’ 104th Birthday!

        Tuesday, February 5, 2019 – Regular Meeting – Jeremiah’s Tavern, Jefferson Road - 12:15 pm

        Monday, February 11, 2019 – Finger Lakes Division Meeting – Flaherty’s, Macedon - 7:00 pm

        February 14–17, 2019 – Mid-Winter Convention – Desmond Hotel & Conference Center, Albany

        Tuesday, February 19, 2019 – Regular Meeting – Jeremiah’s Tavern, Jefferson Road - 12:15 pm

        Tuesday, March 5, 2019 – Regular Meeting – Jeremiah’s Tavern, Jefferson Road - 12:15 pm

        Tuesday, March 19, 2019 – Regular Meeting – Jeremiah’s Tavern, Jefferson Road - 12:15 pm

        Tuesday, April 2, 2019 – Regular Meeting – Jeremiah’s Tavern, Jefferson Road - 12:15 pm

        Monday, April 8, 2019 – Finger Lakes Division Meeting – Flaherty’s, Macedon - 7:00 pm

        Tuesday, April 16, 2019 – Regular Meeting – Jeremiah’s Tavern, Jefferson Road - 12:15 pm

        Monday, April 29, 2019 – Salem Soup Kitchen – Bittner Street - 10:30 am - 1:00 pm

        Tuesday, May 7, 2019 – Regular Meeting – Jeremiah’s Tavern, Jefferson Road - 12:15 pm

        Tuesday, May 21, 2019 – Al Lewis Spaghetti Dinner – Brighton High School - 4:30 - 7:00 pm

        Tuesday, June 4, 2019 – Regular Meeting – Jeremiah’s Tavern, Jefferson Road - 12:15 pm

        Monday, June 10, 2019 – Finger Lakes Division Meeting – Flaherty’s, Macedon - 7:00 pm

        Thursday, June 13, 2019 – Fourth Annual Food Truck Rodeo – Brighton High School - 4:30 - 8:00 pm

        Tuesday, June 18, 2019 – Regular Meeting – Jeremiah’s Tavern, Jefferson Road - 12:15 pm

        Monday June 26-29, 2019 – Kiwanis International Convention – Walt Disney World Resort, Florida

        Thursday, July 4, 2019 – Brighton Kiwanis Kids’ Zone – Meridian Center Park - 12:15 pm

        Tuesday, July 16, 2019 – Regular Meeting – Jeremiah’s Tavern, Jefferson Road - 12:15 pm

        Sunday, July 28, 2018 – Kiwanis Day at the Ballpark – Frontier Field vs. Indianapolis - 12:30 pm

        Monday, July 29, 2019 – Salem Soup Kitchen – Bittner Street - 10:30 am - 1:00 pm

        Tuesday, August 6, 2019 – Regular Meeting – Jeremiah’s Tavern, Jefferson Road - 12:15 pm

        Monday, August 12, 2019 – Finger Lakes Division Meeting – Flaherty’s, Macedon - 7:00 pm

        August 15-18, 2019 – New York District Convention – Niagara Falls, NY

        Tuesday, August 20, 2019 – Regular Meeting – Jeremiah’s Tavern, Jefferson Road - 12:15 pm

       

   

         

During the holiday season, meeting times are subject to change.  Always check with

info@brightonkiwanisclub.org to double-check.




Any questions?  Want to join?  Contact us at info@brightonkiwanisclub.org